Tab Bar
The Tab Bar at the top of your workspace shows all of your open views/viewpoints.

- Click any tab to activate that window.
- Hover over any tab to see a preview of its last opened view, with its name.
Topics in this Section
Turn off Tab Bar
The Tab Bar is visible by default. To turn it on and off, use Window > Show/Hide Tab Bar.
Turn off Tab Preview
By default, Tabs display a preview when you hover over them. Change this preference in Options > Work Environment > More Options.
Click Tab to Activate
Click any tab, or click on its preview, to activate it.

Tab Overview
Click the Tab Overview icon to show/hide all tab previews as an overview, then click the one you need:

Tab Navigation Shortcuts and Commands
- Cycle among the tabs with the shortcuts:
- Ctrl/Cmd+Tab (from left to right)
- Shift Ctrl/Cmd + Tab (from right to left)
See also Overflow Items on the Tab Bar.
- Use the Window > Show Next Tab or Window > Show Previous Tab commands
Each new Tab is appended to the right end of the Tab Bar.
Tab Bar Context Menus
Available items vary depending on the type of view/viewpoint.
- From the Story tab, navigate to any story

- From an Interior Elevation view tab, navigate to any other IE in the
same group

- From a 3D window tab, switch between Axonometric and Perspective views
- From a GDL editing window, switch back to the Master window

- From any viewpoint or view, find recent views created from the same viewpoint.

- Click All Related Views to access, in a tree structure, all
the views created from the same viewpoint as the tab:

Open a Tab from a Marker
Use a placed marker to navigate to any view created from a particular viewpoint.

Overflow Items on the Tab Bar
You can have any number of tabs open at a time. If they no longer fit into the width of the tab bar, a double-arrow pop-up appears at the right edge of the Tab Bar.
Click to see a list of the additional tabs.
The last visible tab is also listed here, shown with a checkmark.

Click on any of these to activate it and add it to the visible tabs on the Tab Bar.
Close Tabs
Do one of the following:
- Click the X on the tab
- Use the Close Tab command from the tab’s context menu
- Use the Close Tab command from the Window menu
- Click the mouse-wheel over the tab
To close all tabs except the currently active one, use Window > Close All Other Tabs and Windows.
Dock/Undock Tabs (Mac)
Do one of the following:
To dock a tabbed item, use the Window > Dock command.
Dock/Undock Tabs (Win)
Undock or minimize the active tab using the icons in the upper right corner.

Open New View/New Layout Preference
When you open a new view or new layout, it can either replace the opened one (of the same type, in the case of views), or be opened in a separate new tab. Change this tab-opening preference in Options > Work Environment > More Options.
Exception: You can have only one Floor Plan and one 3D window open at a time.
Related Topics: