Dimension Text

To open the Dimension Text Settings dialog box, you must first select the Dimension Text item (not the entire Dimension line).

Select Dimension Text

To select a Dimension text, do one of the following:

  • Use the Quick Selection cursor
  • Click on a corner of the text with the Checkmark with Arrow cursor

    SelectDimensionText.png
    Note: To select a Fill Area text, make sure you have enabled Textbox handles at View > On-Screen View Options.

Open Dimension Text Settings

Select a dimension text (see above), then do one of the following:

  • Click the Text icon in the Info Box
  • Double-click the Dimension Tool icon in the Toolbox
  • Ctrl+t
  • Use Edit > Dimension Text Settings (available when a Dimension Text is selected)

Text Content panel

Measured Value (Dimension Text)

Displays the measured value of the selected dimension.


MeasuredValueDim.png

Custom Text Content

“Custom”gives you more options via Autotext to choose different measured levels and reference levels.

You can also add custom text and superscript, and format multi-line text.

Insert Measured Value (Dimension Text)

Click to insert the dimension’s measured value into the multi-line text field.


Clearance.png

Add superscript to dimension text

Click Insert Superscript Symbol, then add your superscript text. (The symbol is shown in the dialog as a caret.)

To continue the text in regular font, click Insert Superscript again.


SuperscriptLevDim.png
Note: If your dimension already includes a superscript - because you are using Extra Accuracy defined in Options > Project Preferences > Dimensions - then add a space before inserting the superscript symbol. Otherwise, the caret itself will appear in the dimension text.

Set dimension unit at Options > Project Preferences > Dimensions).

See Dimensions Preferences.

Copy-Paste Dimension Text

Only simple text items can be copied; superscripts will not be copied.

  1. Select the dimension text only (not the dimension line itself)
  2. Use the Copy command (Edit > Copy or Ctrl/Cmd + C)
  3. Paste the dimension text (Edit > Paste or Ctrl/Cmd + V) - for example, to a text box or onto a Layout.