Preparing for migration
Teamwork Multiproject Migration Tool automates actions between BIMcloud and Archicad to migrate your Teamwork projects. It does not include Archicad binaries. Please install the required Archicad versions separately.
Ensure that no one works on Teamwork projects during their migration. Joined users will be disconnected and unsaved progress will be lost.
Review the following article carefully to avoid issues during migration.
Supported BIMclouds
The tool supports BIMcloud Software as a Service and BIMcloud on-premises. Only BIMcloud 2027 and up is supported.
BIMcloud Basic is not supported, because it can’t run Teamwork projects across multiple versions.
On BIMcloud SaaS: Set the authentication method to legacy (this is required if you are using the Teamwork Multiproject Migration Tool for Archicad 29 or earlier projects)
The user carrying out the migration must:
- Have a BIMcloud license
- Disable multi-factor authentication (MFA) in their Graphisoft ID account (this is required if you are using the Teamwork Multiproject Migration Tool for Archicad 29 or earlier projects)
- Have permissions to update and migrate selected projects: Modify content and Delete/Remove folder content permissions on the parent folder; Modify details, Lock/Unlock Teamwork project, Update to later Archicad build permissions on each Teamwork project
For BIMcloud on-premises:
- Ensure that all BIMcloud components (Manager and Server) are updated. Only BIMcloud 2027 and up is supported.
- Confirm that you have sufficient free space on BIMcloud Servers to store both original and migrated Teamwork projects
- Verify that BIMcloud Servers are running
Archicad installations
The tool detects Archicad installations on your computer. It opens the original project in its original Archicad version to prepare it. Therefore, before beginning the migration, make sure of the following:
- You have installed all Archicad versions and updates used by the Teamwork projects you are migrating
- You have installed the target Archicad version you are migrating to
- You have licenses for all used Archicad versions
- All used Archicad versions have established connections with your BIMcloud. This
means:
- You have opened all Archicad installations at least once (to accept the license agreement and ensure proper licensing)
- You have opened a Teamwork project in each Archicad version at least once (to ensure proper connectivity between Archicad and BIMcloud)
- Close all Archicad instances before you start the migration
Archicad Solo and Start Edition lack Teamwork functionality and are unsupported.
Archicad 20 and newer versions are supported by the application. However, Archicad 20 and 21 are not detected automatically; you will need to browse their installation folders manually when selecting these project versions for migration.
- Compare your Archicad version and build number with the Teamwork project on BIMcloud. To migrate the Teamwork project, you must have an Archicad of the same major version (e.g., Archicad 27) as the Teamwork project. If the Teamwork project was used with updates (e.g., Update 3), also apply these updates to the Archicad on your computer.
- If your installed Archicad has the same major version as the Teamwork project, but the Archicad has a higher update, then the original Teamwork project will be temporarily updated to match. The original project is restored after migration.
- An Archicad of a higher major version cannot migrate older projects (e.g., Archicad 27 cannot migrate a version 26 project).
Your computer
The tool uses your computer's resources and may require full disk access to detect Archicad installations.
Ensure that you have sufficient storage to cache Teamwork projects locally. Logs also consume additional space.
The tool requires internet access and a stable connection to your BIMcloud.
During migration, Archicad windows open and close repeatedly, heavily using CPU, memory, and disk. Avoid using the computer during this process. Keep it online and powered on. For laptops, use the AC adapter.
Do not turn off or suspend your computer during migration.